Safety Summit of USDOT University Transportation Centers

March 30 and 31, 2016
Capitol Skyline Hotel
10 I Street Southwest, Washington, DC 20024

Thursday, March 31, 2016

8 a.m.
Networking Continental Breakfast

8:30 a.m.
Welcome and Participant Introductions
Raj Rajkumar, Carnegie Mellon University, Director, T-SET UTC
Dan Lee, University of Pennsylvania, Penn Director, T-SET UTC

9 a.m.
Panel and Group Discussion: Transportation Safety Priorities from the Government Perspective
Moderator John Flaherty, Director and Distinguished Service Professor of Heinz College, Washington, DC

Monique Evans, Director, Office of Safety R&D, Federal Highway Administration
Kevin Gay, Team Lead for Policy and Tech Transfer, ITS Joint Program Office
Kelly Hardy, Program Manager for Safety, American Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials
Brian Alberts, Program Analyst, Federal Transit Administration
Caryn Moore Lund, Professional Staff, House Transportation and Infrastructure Committee, Highways and Transit Subcommittee

10:30 a.m.
Panel and Group Discussion: Transportation Safety Priorities from the Industry/Community Perspective
Moderator Courtney Ehrlichman, Deputy Executive Director, Traffic21/T-SET UTC

Neil Pedersen, Executive Director, Transportation Research Board
Art Guzzetti, Vice President – Policy, American Public Transportation Association
David Kidd, Senior Research Scientist, Insurance Institute for Highway Safety
Jake Nelson, Director, Traffic Safety Advocacy & Research, American Automobile Association
Rob Abbott, Vice President of Safety Policy, American Trucking Association
Ken McLeod, Legal & Policy Specialist, League of American Bicyclists

Lunch and Keynote from U.S. DOT Acting Under Secretary Carlos Monje
Introduction of Keynote Speaker – Raj Rajkumar, T-SET UTC

1 p.m.
Safety-Themed University Transportation Centers Updates
Moderator Chris Hendrickson, Director, Traffic21 Institute

Raj Rajkumar, Carnegie Mellon University, T-SET UTC
Max Donath, University of Minnesota, Roadway Safety Institute
Shauna Hallmark, Iowa State University, Midwest Transportation Center
Lidia Kostyniuk, University of Michigan, ATLAS Center
Dawn Marshall, University of Iowa, SAFER-Sim
Umit Ozguner, The Ohio State University CrIS UTC
Constantine Tarawneh, University of Texas Rio Grande Valley, UTC for Railway Safety
Zong Tian, University of Nevada, Reno, Solaris
Yinhai Wang, University of Washington, PacTrans
Stephen Richards, University of Tennessee, Southeastern Transportation Centers

3 p.m.
VIP Panel and Audience Discussion: Role of Safety-Themed UTCs in the Future of Mobility
Moderator Stan Caldwell, Executive Director, Traffic21/ T-SET UTC
Nathaniel Beuse, Associate Administrator, Vehicle Safety Research National Highway Traffic Safety Administration
Michael Trentacoste, Associate Administrator for Research Development and Technology, Federal Highway Administration
Vincent White, Deputy Assistant Secretary for Policy, Office of the Secretary of Transportation

4 p.m.
Adjournment and Closing Remarks
Raj Rajkumar, Carnegie Mellon University, Director T-SET UTC
Dan Lee, University of Pennsylvania, Penn Director T-SET UTC